The Pleasure of Sharing

A group of friends were at my place and I was telling them how much fun the Firefly board game is. When one friend asked what the game was about, we quickly learned that he had never seen the television show. I couldn’t let him remain in ignorance of the amazing storytelling that was the Firefly series, so he went home DVDs in hand with homework to view them ASAP. The next weekend he returned the DVDs and gave me me a big high five. He’d loved it, of course and singled Jayne out as his favourite character. It was a lot of fun to see him embrace Firefly as enthusiastically as I do and now I have a new buddy who can banter quotes from the show. I’m also happy to have gained Joss Whedon a new follower.

The Pleasure of Sharing

It goes to show that you may think you understand someone’s interests based on the activities you know they like (attends hockey games every Friday) or their outward appearance (wears favourite team’s licensed clothing), but the people you surround yourself with are rarely that one dimensional. You may never know until you expose them to something you are passionate about; you could be surprised by something you have a common interest in. In  my case, it spawned my own marathon viewing of Firefly.

And if you’re curious about the game here is an great review on another blog I read:  http://www.outpostzero.net/2013/08/review-firefly-board-game.html

Tribe collecting score: 4

  • Board Games
  • Science Fiction
  • Cult Television
  • Joss is My God Now
Leave a Reply

