Fantasy Flight Summer

It’s been a Fantasy Flight summer. For the uninitiated, Fantasy Flight is a tabletop game publisher.

It all started with X-Wing, which I have been playing for awhile, but my interest was rekindled this summer. Friends stopped by for a visit from out of town and brought the Tantive V, one of the the large ship expansions and a new play mat.

Then a friend at work brought in his favourite game, Android Netrunner. I immediately loved it for its interesting asynchronous game play and cyberpunk game setting. We play it at lunch every chance we can get. The game is challenging yet quick enough to play during lunch break. I’m usually on the losing end, but my buddy has been playing a lot longer and knows all the tricks. When I beat him, it feels like a real victory. My husband brought the core set home and I showed him the ropes.

Finally, a friend’s blog post inspired me to get  The Lord of the Rings the Card Game. It became an instant obsession. It’s strategic and cooperative, plus you can build decks with your favourite heroes from the books.  You play scenarios in order as a campaign along a specific story line.  There a a slew of card packs and expansions to buy, so I can keep collecting for some time. So far I’m a big fan of the dwarves, myself.

Check out Steve’s blog post about it. That is what peaked my interest. Steve, Parker, and I used Lackey CCG to play online together, since we don’t live nearby one another. We recorded our first game together and played the first scenario. Steve put it up on YouTube. It’s a bit long, but it’s very introductory and you can see the fantastic artwork. There’s a comprehensive list of the contributors here.

Here’s a playlist in case you want to keep up with future videos: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLm6hXKt8p_9fDJSaQcg1bYlLAKirKy3VM

Tribe collecting score: 8

  • Star Wars
  • Cyber Punk
  • Lord of the Rings
  • Card Games
  • Miniatures Games
  • Gaming Vlogs
  • Gaming Blogs
  • Fantasy Art
Leave a Reply

